Illinois Becomes Third State to Guarantee Paid Leave


On March 13, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed SB208 into law, mandating paid time that can be used by workers for any reason. This historic legislation provides 40 hours of paid leave each year for 1.5 million workers across the state. Illinois is now the third state in the nation and the only state in the Midwest to guarantee paid leave.

“SB208 will make a big difference in the lives of working families across this state. No worker should have to make the difficult decision between receiving a full paycheck or taking unpaid time to address an unexpected emergency. This law ensures that workers can take care of themselves and their families without making a financial sacrifice,” said Local 73 President Dian Palmer.

Starting on March 31, 2024, or 90 days after hire, employees will begin accruing one hour of paid time for every 40 hours worked. Workers will be paid their full wage while on leave, and tipped workers will receive the minimum wage. Employees cannot be required to find their replacement for the leave.