Endorsed Candidates: March 17 Democratic Party Contests

OurVoteVoice_PostcardImage350The SEIU State Council, representing 150,000 janitors, security officers, public employees, home care, healthcare, childcare and other workers endorsed candidates for the Democratic Primary on March 17, 2020.

SEIU Local 73’s Political Engagement Committee members met in the Fall to approve the legislative voting records for incumbents and the non-incumbent candidate questionnaire.  Political Engagement Committee members and other interested Local 73 members and retirees interviewed candidates for three weeks in December. 

We believe the candidates that we recommend today represent the interests and values of Illinois working families.  The Political Engagement Committee members recommended candidates who will lead on the “Unions for All” agenda where working people, across racial lines and different backgrounds, can build and hold power with higher wages and affordable healthcare for all.

Your SEIU-endorsed candidates include:


 United States Senate Dick Durbin
Congress, 1st District Bobby Rush
Congress, 2nd District Robin Kelly
Congress, 3rd District Marie Newman
Congress, 4th District Chuy Garcia
Congress, 5th District Mike Quigley
Congress, 6th District Sean Casten
Congress, 7th District Danny Davis
Congress, 8th District Raja Krijnamoorthi
Congress, 9th District Jan Schakowsky
Congress, 10th District Brad Schneider
Congress, 11th District Bill Foster
Congress, 13th District Betsy Dirksen-Londrigen
Congress, 14th District Lauren Underwood
Congress, 17th District Cheri Bustos
Illinois Supreme Court P. Scott Neville Jr.
Illinois Senate, 1st District Anthony “Tony” Munoz
Illinois Senate, 4th District Kimberly Lightford
Illinois Senate, 10th District Robert Martwick
Illinois Senate, 11th District Celina Villanueva
Illinois Senate, 13th District Robert Peters
Illinois Senate, 22nd District Cristina Castro
Illinois Senate, 25th District Karina Villa
Illinois Senate, 49th District Meg Loughran Cappel
Illinois House, 1st District Aaron Ortiz
Illinois House, 2nd District Theresa Mah
Illinois House, 3rd District Nidia Carranza
Illinois House, 9th District Lakeshia Collins
Illinois House, 10th District Jawaharial Williams
Illinois House, 19th District Lindsey LaPointe
Illinois House, 26th District Kam Buckner
Illinois House, 27th District Justin Slaughter
Illinois House, 29th District Thaddeus Jones
Illinois House, 31st District Mary Flowers
Illinois House, 32nd District Andre Thapedi
Illinois House 33rd District Marcus Evans
Illinois House, 40th District Jaime Andrade
Illinois House, 60th District Rita Mayfield
Illinois House, 83rd District Barbara Hernandez
Cook County State’s Attorney Kim Foxx
Cook County Board of Review, 1st District Abdelnasser Rashid
Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Kim Dubuclet
Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Cam Davis

If you would like to join your sisters and brothers to help elect the endorsed candidates, please contact Ray Williams at rwilliams@seiu73.org.

Comments are closed.